Harry Potter Book 1 Book Review…

It was Mum’s idea to start writing book reviews on here.  So here goes my first one:

Title: Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone

Author: J. K. Rowling

Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing Plc

Genre: Fantasy

Pages: 223

Age: 9 +

Rating: 8/10

This is the first book in the famous Harry Potter series by J. K. Rowling.  It is notbook my favourite of all the Harry Potter books but is a great read anyway.  It is set in Britain but it doesn’t say when or where exactly in Britain it is set.

Harry thinks he is just an ordinary boy living with his aunt, uncle and cousin.  That is until he starts getting strange letters and a giant of a man named Hagrid knocks the front door down and tells him he’s a wizard. Soon Harry is off to the wizarding school, Hogwarts, where he learns magic and make two great friends; Ron Weasley and Hermione Granger.  Later in the book he duels with Lord Voldemort, the man that killed his parents, but I won’t tell you anymore as it would spoil the surprise of finding out yourself.  The book is better than the movie in my view as it goes into more detail. There are two problems I think, about this book, the first one is that sometimes you don’t know quite what’s going on because sometimes it flits between different places and the other problem is that it is really hard to put down as you want to keep reading, even if it is 10 o’clock at night!

This is a highly thrilling, mysterious book full of exciting twists and turns.  I would recommend that it is read only by people over 9 as it has multiple scary scenes in it that, in my view, would scare people any younger.  I really like this book as it is unexpected and has parts that leave you wondering what will happen next.  I would give it a rating of 8/10 as it is really well written and makes you, as I said before, want to keep reading and find out more.

Please comment (and if you can’t work out how, search for the post titled ‘Comments…’ in the search bar on the right of the screen) if you have read this book, tell me what YOU thought.  Also, please recommend more books for me to read and review (also using the comments bar).

Nos vemos…

Emily

One thought on “Harry Potter Book 1 Book Review…

Please comment, I love recieving comments. Just say nice things, bad things make me sad and you don't want a sad blogger.

