My story and Hockey…

Hockey tonight, wish me luck!  We’re playing Weber, AGAIN!  I’m playing another game at 4:00 pm too, I’m captaining the team of all boys and one girl.  Our game’s at 6:00 pm, so I’ve got 1 hour and 30 minutes before our game.

Dad set me a project at the start of the week to write a story in 798 or less words, in the end, mine used 789 words without the first line.  I had to choose six beginnings of novels that I liked, to write the story about, they were:

  1. “The time has come.” – Dr Seuss, Please Go Now!
  2. “When  he was nearly 13, my brother Jem got his arm badly broken at the elbow.” – Harper Lee, To Kill a Mockingbird
  3. “It was a bright, cold day in April and the clocks were striking thirteen.” – George Orwell, Nineteen Eighty-Four
  4. “The past is a foreign country: they do things differently there.” –  L. P. Hartley, The Go-Between
  5. “All children, except one, grow up.” – J. M. Barrie, Peter Pan
  6. “It was the day my grandmother exploded.” – Iain Banks, The Crow Road

I chose the third one, this is the story that I wrote:

 

It was a bright cold day in April and the clocks were striking thirteen.  The chiming stopped and a girl holding a bear appeared in front of me!  “Hello,” she said, “Are you Lauren?”

“Yes, who are you and how do you know my name?”

She laughed, “I’m Scarlett, and this is Fred.”  Fred yawned showing off his teeth to my kitten Tabitha.  “Your kitten told me who you are.”

“It’s true,” Tabitha said.

I jumped, “Y-you can talk!”

“Sure!”

“The land where I live, Lessay, is in danger.  It’s in the sky and the cloud needle that keeps the clouds firm is missing.  I came to ask you if you could help me.”

“Why ask me, I mean, I’ve only just met you.  How do I know that it’s safe?”

“Well, I was told that I should ask you.  Tabitha is one of the kittens that our cat at the castle had.  Fred chose her for you and then we pretended that she was a stray cat that you found on the road.”

“That explains a whole lot – NOT, give me another reason to come with you.”

“Well, I’ve spoken to your parents and they say it’s OK.”

“I’ll come with you, but you have to bring me home straight after.”

“Fine, let’s go.”

Scarlett tapped the clock and a door opened.  I walked through.  Tabitha jumped into my arms, “I’m coming too!” she said.  The door shut and I stared around.   Everything was white and made of clouds, even I had to admit it was pretty cool. 

“Oh, there’s dad, King Sunlit, he’ll tell you how he knows you.”

A chubby man with a red cloak and a lopsided crown ran up to us. 

“Hi girls.  I guess you want to know how we know who you are, don’t you Lauren?”

I nodded, “Yes, you wouldn’t enjoy it if you were just randomly asked to go with someone who claimed that they knew you, once a clock had struck 13, if you know what I mean?”

“Lauren, stop the cheek, he’s the king!”  Tabitha hissed at me.

“You were my sister‘s daughter, when your parents died in a fire, we gave you to the people that you live with now.  Queen Leah’s over at the stable, she’ll come with you on your trip to Cleoseah.”

I sighed, I could only go with them, after all, they held the key to me getting back.

 

After a brief walk, we arrived at the dragon stables.  A woman walked over, leading three dragons. “Hi girls,” she said, “Lauren, I’m Queen Leah, Scarlett’s mum, I’ve got a dragon for each of you, hop on!”

I looked at the Queen, “Is it safe?  It doesn’t sound safe!”

“That’s Nighith, she’s a lovely young dragon.  She’s very gentle, and there’s a strap that holds you in, sort of like a rollercoaster ride.  If you want her to move, just tap her with your heels.”

I mounted up and did as the queen had instructed.  The dragons soared through the clear sky.  In front of us was another cloud-land.  This one had grey clouds.  We landed and Scarlett looked at her bracelet.

“I can feel the needle,” Scarlet said, “Follow me.”

We walked through the streets, following Scarlett.   Eventually we got to a temple.  Scarlett tapped it and a door opened.  We walked inside.  In the middle of the room there was a glass case, inside there was a long needle.  Scarlett gasped, “What’s wrong?” I asked.

“The needle is usually white and glowing brightly,” Scarlett explained, “Now, it’s grey and dull.”

“And how are we supposed to save the needle?”

“Well it’d surprise me if there wasn’t an alarm on it.  If you and mum quickly lift it up then I should be able to disable the alarm before it goes off.  Tabitha, Fred, stand guard.”

The animals stood at the door.  Leah and I picked up the case, Scarlett took off her bracelet, pointing it at the table.  A small beep came from it, but nothing more.  We carried the case to Leah’s waiting dragon.  Once it was on, we hopped up onto our dragons.  The animals leaped on and we took off.  Back at the castle King Sunlit met us, “Well done, I knew that you could do it!  Lauren, the clock’s about to strike thirteen again, follow me.” 

I followed him to a clock that looked the same as the one that I had come through, the time was now 12:59.  As it clicked over to 1:00 the King tapped it and a door opened.  “Thank you, King Sunlit,” I said, Tabitha ran through and I followed her waving to the king as I went.  Suddenly Tabitha and I were back in our hall by the clock.

“Well,” Tabitha said, “That was some adventure!”

 

See ya…

Emily

One thought on “My story and Hockey…

Please comment, I love recieving comments. Just say nice things, bad things make me sad and you don't want a sad blogger.

